top of page
Catalina Chase.PNG



The Catalina Chase is a series for open-wheeler racing cars over 6 rounds in 2016. Catalina Park at Katoomba in the Blue Mountains was a very popular circuit in the 1960’s. Elfin’s first open-wheeler was named the Elfin Catalina.

The calendar of events for 2016 is:


Rounds 2016.PNG

2016  Winner of Catalina Chase - Hunter McElrea

Winner Catalina Chase 2016

2016  Winner of Catalina Chase - Hunter McElrea

Jason Hore

Jason Hore winner of Matich A’fifty

Blake Varney

Blake Varney winner of the Elfin E’preuve

Hunter McElrea Winner Bowin Gprix

Hunter McElrea winner of the Bowin Gprix

Catalina Chase Wiinners Trophy 2016

Catalina Chase Top 10 Point Scores after 6 Rounds:

Points 16.PNG

Round 1 - Birrana Gprix

Birrana GPrix Trophy 2016

Birrana racing cars were Australian designed and constructed open-wheel racing cars which competed in Australian F2, F3 and Formula Ford categories with great success. Leo Geoghegan won the 1973 Australian F2 championship driving a Birrana 273 and the 1974 Australian F2 Championship driving a Birrana 274.  Birrana cars competed internationally in Formula Atlantic in the U.K. and the Rothmans Series in Malaysia.

Round 2 - Cooper Caper

Cooper Caper Trophy 2016

Cooper is a name synonymous with Australian motor racing. Jack Brabham immortalised the name by winning the 1959 and 1960 World Drivers Championship driving Cooper-Climaxes.  Garrie Cooper was the founder of Elfin Sports Cars, Australia’s most successful and prolific builder of racing and sports racing cars. Elfin racing cars have been successful in every national motor racing category. Internationally success has been achieved in Tasman Cup races, European and Asian races and victories in the New Zealand G.P. and Singapore G.P.

Round 3 - Bowin Gprix

Bowin Cprix Trophy 2016

Round 4 - Tempo Wiggle

Tempo Wiggle Trophy 2016

A challenging corner/section of the Toowoomba street circuit at Middle Ridge  (1958-61).

Round 5 - Elfin E’preuve

Elfin E'preuve Trophy 2016.jpg

Round 6 - Matich Gprix

Matich A'fifty Trophy 2016

Apart from two Ford specials in 1950 &51, Matich cars have been the only Australian designed and constructed cars to win the Australian G.P. with Frank Matich winning in 1971 driving  a Matich A50-Repco Holden V8 and John Goss winning in 1976 driving a Matich A53-Repco Holden V8.

Catalina Chase Winners Trophy

bottom of page